Given

On the way to work the other day, listening to scripture, John 17 … Verse 6 thru 9 jumped out of the speakers:

John 17 6 “I have manifested Your name to the men whom You have given Me out of the world. They were Yours, You gave them to Me, and they have kept Your word. 7 Now they have known that all things which You have given Me are from You. 8 For I have given to them the words which You have given Me; and they have received them, and have known surely that I came forth from You; and they have believed that You sent Me.
9 “I pray for them. I do not pray for the world but for those whom You have given Me, for they are Yours.

Sitting on the side of the highway watching the press of cars and trucks moving swiftly off to who knows where … I was awestruck. The Prince of Heaven praying for the people God have given Him, not the world, just those given to Him by the very hand of God.

A few verses down He continues to pray for “all who will believe”, He is praying for all believers given into His hand, He is praying for me. As incredible as that thought is, the King of all Kings praying to God Almighty for me….. that is what drove me to the shoulder of the road. He was praying. praying hard, pouring out His heart for those He’d been given.

What kept me there a long time after was;

What of those given me ….?

How have I prayed for them?

HAVE I prayed for them …?

Have I asked God that they be made perfect, that they KNOW Him, these given me? Have I asked Him anything for these He has placed in my way?

I don’t like the answer very much … not much at all …

–just thinking …

About thinkingoutkeyboard

Thinking without the proper equipment with unsupervised keyboard access. View all posts by thinkingoutkeyboard

Leave a Reply

