the privilege ?

Over the last few months, maybe longer, I’ve come to understand prayer differently than I have before and it finally began to clarify in my mind just a bit.  I’ve come to understand that, for me, prayer is not a gift, it is not a privilege, it is not optional.  Prayer is the command of God, always in all things we are COMMANDED to pray. We are COMMANDED by the Creator King, the King above all kings, into audience with Him.  He demands our presence before His throne in prayer at all times in all things.  As has been said before, I cannot call Him Lord and not obey.  If He truly is my Lord, my Master, I must obey His commands.  Failure to pray is sin.  Failure to pray for those whom He has given to me for prayer is sin against a Righteous God and against His children He trusted to me for prayer.  If I am to present myself as a living sacrifice as reasonable worship of the Most High God, I believe part of that, maybe the pinnacle of that is presenting myself prepared to pray, to intercede for those He gives me.

Luke 18 1Then He spoke a parable to them, that men always ought to pray and not lose heart, …

Ephesians 6:17-18  17 And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God; 18 praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, being watchful to this end with all perseverance and supplication for all the saints—

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18  16 Rejoice always, 17 pray without ceasing, 18 in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

About thinkingoutkeyboard

Thinking without the proper equipment with unsupervised keyboard access. View all posts by thinkingoutkeyboard

Leave a Reply

