forsaken

4

Crucified.

For hours, He hung there in this brutal game of tug-o-war; pushing and pulling pierced nerves against the searing nails to expand His chest, to catch a breath, to slump down jerking at the nails again. Then back up again, the few raw nerves left in His back, tearing against the rough wood, another breath and back down again. Repeated over and over … as the cup slowly drained.

Then … from the cross … a cry, the Son of Man from the cross cries out,

     “My God, My God, why have You forsaken me?”

 

It’s been said that God could not look upon that sin, the stench of our sin caused God to look away. I disagree. God looks on sin every day else he would never see us, would never have seen me. In my sin, He chased me down, while yet a sinner, Christ died for me. Dug me from the pit of sin, the pit I dug for myself my desires. Washed me clean by His blood (this blood) and placed my feet on His solid rock.   Just as we know the faults of our children He knows the faults of His, He knows their sin, He sees the depth of their depravity,  He sees their sin, our sin … and provided the way, the ONLY way we might be able to overcome it…

This was/is His plan for our salvation from sin,

This was/is HIS sacrifice,

He provided the Lamb for this sacrifice, no ram would be found to replace this sacrifice.  

He is the High Priest of all creation,

He sat enthroned at this sacrifice,

He stood presiding over this sacrifice,

God, by His own hand executed this, His sacrifice of His own, only begotten Son.

“No power over Me is given you, save that from above.” 

He (God), made Him (Jesus) who knew no sin, become sin that we might know the righteousness of God. Oh what manner of love!!!

 

The depth of my sin, of my depravity, blinded Jesus (just as it blinds me) to the all powerful, ever present, Creator God, and in that darkness He groped for the ONLY clear way, the only salvation. For we have a high priest who is able to sympathize with our weakness; one who has been tempted in EVERY way – yet was without sin. The utter hopelessness of our sin has but one way out, and only One knows the way … by experience.

There is no other name under heaven by which we must be saved.

~~~~

The Son of God looked down from His cross at these poor, wretched, pitiful, blind, naked, and His heart went out to them. He reached back over a thousand years of His chosen people’s history and gathered a scripture from their Father through David. These are the Law-Keepers, the Priests, the Pharisees and the Scribes, surely, they will recognize this, surely, they will know, they will hear and see … from the depth of time. And He cried out, ‘My God, My God, why have You forsaken me?’”

The first line from the song of David, Psalm 22; It goes on:

All those who see Me ridicule Me; They shoot out the lip, they shake the head, saying,

“He trusted in the LORD, let Him rescue Him; Let Him deliver Him, since He delights in Him!”

They gape at Me with their mouths, Like a raging and roaring lion.

I am poured out like water, And all My bones are out of joint;

My heart is like wax; It has melted within Me.

My strength is dried up like a potsherd,

And My tongue clings to My jaws; You have brought Me to the dust of death.

For dogs have surrounded Me; The congregation of the wicked has enclosed Me.

They pierced My hands and My feet; I can count all My bones.

They look and stare at Me. They divide My garments among them,

And for My clothing they cast lots.

“See? This precious pearl from generations past, points to this cross, this time, this place, these events, this sacrifice, this MAN.

Who is this man that calls on David, the man after God’s own heart, as witness?

Who is He that calls on the depth of God’s very Word as proof of His lineage?

Who is He?

“Born to you this day in the city of David a Savior … the Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world!”

Merry Christmas.

About thinkingoutkeyboard

Thinking without the proper equipment with unsupervised keyboard access. View all posts by thinkingoutkeyboard

One response to “forsaken

Leave a Reply

