What’s In A Name?

This map gives you the percentage of those claiming to be Christians of any faiths in each state. Click on the following and see the different religions by state and elsewhere by holding cursor over a state.

http://www.usatoday.com/news/graphics/pew-religion-08/flash.htm

“Going to church doesn’t make you a Christian any more than sleeping in an oven makes you a biscuit.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain, for the Lord will not hold him guiltless who takes His name in vain.” — Deuteronomy 5:11 (NKJV) *1

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Taking His name … and then refusing His Kingship, refusing His leadership, refusing to follow His direction, refusing to acknowledge His authority, refusing to surrender to His will, refusing to seek Him, His ways and His pleasure, refusing to honor Him, praise Him, worship Him with all our heart, soul, mind, and strength and refusing to love the “least of these” as He does …

… is a vain effort …

How vain could I be, standing in complete disobedience to His command, to point a finger at the actions of another …?  Only the sinless have the authority to cast stones.

Once safely rescued from the stormy sea, firmly placed on solid ground, how should I act toward those still swallowed by the waves, lost in the storm, without hope?  Knowing the depth of my depravity, the stench of my own sin and yet witness to, partaker of the height of His unending grace, the width of His unfailing mercy, the fullness of His forgiveness how should I act toward those trapped in the very same pit of despair I once loved? 

 

How would the One whose Name I have taken act? 

 

How did He? 

 

How should I?

 

How do I?

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Then the King will say to those on His right hand, ‘Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: for I was hungry and you gave Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in; I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me.’

 “Then the righteous will answer Him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You drink? When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or naked and clothe You? Or when did we see You sick, or in prison, and come to You?’ And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.’ — Matthew 25:34-40 (NKJV)*1

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thought for today:  The Children of Israel, because of their disobedience, were denied access to the promised land for an entire generation (Numbers 14).  The inhabitants of the land, destined for destruction by the hand of God, prospered for that same generation.  What evil prospers today due solely to my disobedience?

*1 “Scripture taken from the New King James Version. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson, Inc. Used by permission. All rights reserved.”

 

About thinkingoutkeyboard

Thinking without the proper equipment with unsupervised keyboard access. View all posts by thinkingoutkeyboard

3 responses to “What’s In A Name?

  • Cristal

    That was fun! (Rolling over the states on the map — quite interesting). Love this quote: “Going to church doesn’t make you a Christian any more than sleeping in an oven makes you a biscuit.” I’m going to be using that one for sure!

  • URL

    Aw, this really is an extremely good post. In thought I would like to put in spot writing like this moreover – spending time and actual effort to create a very good article… but exactly what do I say… I procrastinate alot by way of no indicates appear to get something accomplished. 429472

  • If God hates religion, what’d He think of Jesus? | Refusing to Tiptoe

    […] The other is religious hoping for a relationship. Going to church doesn’t make you a Christian any more than sleeping in an oven makes you a biscuit. (Randy Culp: thinkingoutkeyboard) […]

Leave a Reply

